The Great Descent

Vertical Tightrope / Performance

A man climbs a monument, high, perilous, unexpected … and goes down a rope.

A man goes up and down a monument, high, perilous, unexpected.
For this performance, the circus act is « reduced » to its greatest simplicity: a descent on the rope that is also a journey from a point called « dangerous » to a point of apparent « safety ». This radical gesture, of great physical intensity, is kind of an infiltration into the landscape without any other form of narrative than the need to find the ground after having defied the heights.

 

During his research, Fragan has developed a very personal practice of the rope (found in « The Void ») that evacuates the knots in favor of acrobatic figures and balances found by the mere agility of the body on the fixed points formed by his hands along the rope.

 

The « Great Descent » is an extreme form that poses the intention of a vertical walk inspired by the tightrope walker. By its length, it merges with reality: there is no representation, there is the presentation of an act.

TEAM

Rope, Fragan Gehlker

Rigging of the rope, Adrien Maheux

Officeology, Roselyne Burger & Anna Tauber

TECHNIQUE

Duration: a performance of about 15 to 20 min
Public: all audiences
Capacity: a public space that can gather 3000 to 20 000 people

 

Characteristic of the building:

> outdoor place, rope hung on a crane, a bridge, or a very high building, lights depending on the time and place chosen

> a hanging point that supports 500 kg

> a height of about 25 to 35 m

> a dressing room nearby

 

Material:

> 1 rope from 25 to 35 m

> optional lights depending on the context

 

Planning:
Set up in the morning for the afternoon or evening

FEATURE

The Great Descent is like an artistic intervention in the public space in the sense that it takes hold of a place in the urban or rural landscape and brings the population to live a special experience following the dizzying progression of the artist .

We imagine it as an intervention announced in the form of a « surprise », so that the performance appears improvised in front of the public. The idea is to propose the Great Descent as part of festivals or exceptional events that gather a large audience.

 

It can be associated with the presentation of the show The Void – circus attempt or be programmed independently.

 

Fragan Gehlker has already made this performance twice, in Les Utopistes in Lyon (2013) and in the Festival Scènes de rue in Mulhouse (2014)




SOMETIMES The Great Descent OVERFLOWS : SEE THE OVERFLOWINGS

La Grande Descente

Funambulisme vertical / Performance

Un homme escalade un monument, haut, périlleux, inattendu… et descend le long d’une corde.

Un homme monte et descend un monument, haut, périlleux, inattendu.
Pour cette performance, l’acte circassien

est « réduit » à sa plus grande simplicité : une descente sur la corde lisse qui est aussi un parcours depuis un point dit « dangereux » jusqu’à un point d’apparente « sécurité ». Ce geste radical, d’une grande intensité physique, agit en infiltration dans le paysage sans autre forme de récit que cette nécessité de retrouver le sol après avoir défié les hauteurs.

 

Au cours de ses recherches, Fragan a mis au point une pratique très personnelle de la corde (que l’on retrouve dans « Le Vide ») qui évacue les nœuds au profit des figures acrobatiques et des équilibres trouvés par la seule agilité du corps à se maintenir sur les points fixes formés par ses mains le long de la corde.

 

La « Grande Descente » est une forme extrême qui pose l’intention d’une marche verticale inspirée du funambule. Par sa longueur, elle fusionne avec le réel : il n’y a pas de représentation, il y a la présentation d’un acte.

EQUIPE

A la corde, Fragan Gehlker

A l’accroche de la corde, Adrien Maheux

A la bureaulogie, Roselyne Burger & Anna Tauber

TECHNIQUE

Durée : une performance de 15 à 20 min environ
Public : tout public
Jauge : un espace public qui puisse réunir entre 3000

et 20 000 personnes

 

Caractéristique du bâtiment:

> lieu en plein air, corde accrochée sur une grue, un pont, ou un édifice très haut, selon l’horaire et le lieu choisis prévoir un éclairage

> un point d’accroche qui supporte 500 kg

> une hauteur de 25 à 35 m environ

> loge / espace pour se préparer à proximité

 

Matériel nécessaire:

> 1 corde de 25 à 35 m

> lumières optionnelles selon le contexte

 

Planning:
montage le matin pour l’après-midi ou le soir

PARTICULARITE

La Grande descente s’apparente à une intervention artistique dans l’espace public au sens où elle s’empare d’un lieu dans le paysage urbain ou rural et amène la population à vivre une expérience particulière en suivant la progression vertigineuse de l’artiste.

Nous privilégions une intervention annoncée sous la forme d’une « surprise », pour que la performance apparaisse improvisée au regard du public. L’idée est de proposer la Grande Descente dans le cadre de festivals ou d’évènements exceptionnels qui réunissent un public très nombreux.

 

Elle peut être associée à la présentation du spectacle Le Vide – essai de cirque ou être programmée de manière autonome.

 

Fragan Gehlker a déjà réalisé cette performance deux fois, aux Utopistes à Lyon (2013) et au festival Scènes de rue à Mulhouse (2014)




DES FOIS La Grande Descente DÉBORDE : VOIR LES DÉBORDEMENTS